IT WAS my sister’s birthday this week so I headed into Boots to pick her up a present. Of course, I bought her a voucher in 16 seconds flat and then spent the rest of the time browsing for myself.

*sings* Sisters, sisters, there were never such devoted sisters. Hey, it was three for two, what was I supposed to do?

Anyway, I picked up three things that I had been lusting after since reading about them on the real beauty blogs, so in my defence some bigger girls told me to do it.

Seventeen Cheek Stamp

Seventeen Cheek Stamp

'Bashful'

‘Bashful’

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

First up is the Seventeen Cheek Stamp in ‘Bashful’ a gorgeous little blusher compact, kinda like an ink stamper, that comes with a dinky mirror in the lid which I had read about on Beaut.ie and Nurse Fancy Pants.

In real life there's a pretty shimmer off the blush

In real life there’s a pretty shimmer off the blush

Do remember to blend, or you'll end up looking like Bosco

Do remember to blend, or you’ll end up looking like Bosco

It leaves a lovely light flush

It leaves a lovely light flush

 

You stamp the blusher on to the apples of your cheeks and then blend with your fingertips. Bashful is a kind of a dusky rose pink with a subtle shimmer and it’s really beautiful on. I only put on a single light stamp and then blended it and it was just enough for a daytime flush. This is absolutely buildable for night time wear or if you wanted to make a feature out of your cheekbones.

Rockin' Curves Mascara

Rockin’ Curves Mascara

Next we have Rimmel’s Scandal Eyes Rockin’ Curves mascara (Kerrriiiiist, the names they put on these yokes) which I had seen on So Sue Me.

Eyes before, with no mascara

Eyes before, with no mascara

One coat

One coat

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One coat

One coat

 

The thing about this mascara is the wand as it’s twisted to catch the tiny inner lashes as well as the longer outer ones. I was a bit confused though, not sure which way to hold it – the scoopy part facing up or facing down? Anyway, I gave both ways a go, but I probably should have watched a tutorial or summat.

Two coats

Two coats

Two coats

Two coats

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The mascara itself is a pretty dry formulation so it doesn’t clump at all and my lashes felt nice and feathery soft afterwards. It coated all my lashes and gave nice volume but it was quite subtle. I needed two coats to really look like I was wearing mascara. It’s nice ‘n’ all, but were my eyes scandalous? Hmmm, not really.

Rouge Edition Velvet

Rouge Edition Velvet

Finally then I picked up the Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet lipstick in ‘Frambourjoise’ a gorgeous red that just lovely and vibrant and I adore it. I had seen it over on Lovely Girlie Bits and knew I had to have it.

Lovely matte finish

Lovely matte finish

 

This goes on liquid like a lipgloss, but instantly turns to a matte lipstick on your lips. It’s so lovely and soft and velvety, it feels GORGEOUS on your lips. It sets pretty firmly and would certainly last for work or going for a drink. However, when I was testing it I put it on just before a big meal and by the end of the meal all trace of the lipstick was gone. Now, that could just be because I’m a horse and a sloppy eater, so don’t let that put you off.

Overall I’m pretty pleased with my purchases. Have you tried any of the above, or have I enticed you to try?

** Note: In all of these pictures, yes, I’m wearing a towel on my head, I had just washed my hair!

