Yawn! Sleepy sleepy!

 

In the Land of Nod. But not for much longer!

 

I LOVE my bed.

Love it now.

It’s big and wide, King sized. Plenty of room for Yer Man and I to sleep without a millimetre of our bodies touching each other. I can’t sleep if someone is touching off me.

I need space, lots and lots of space. And my lovely comfy, firm, crisp, snuggly bed gives that to me in spades.

Lately though I think I’ve been loving my bed too much. Getting too much sleep if that’s even a thing. Particularly on weekends where my lie-ins hit noon or 1pm regularly.

I feel sluggish. Tired. Sick. Even after a shower and breakfast. The day never really gets started for me when I have a lie-in. I’ve started to realise I’m not even enjoying the lie-ins anymore, I feel guilty when I wake up, like I’ve wasted the day.

I’m always in awe of people who get up and get stuff done before noon on a weekend. I read their Facebook status updates jealously, hardly able to believe that they’ve been up hours, had breakfast, walked the dog and put a wash on, when I’ve barely brushed my teeth. They pack more into three hours than I do for a whole weekend. And it’s really starting to irritate me. I’M starting to irritate me.

It’s not like I even need a lie-in on weekends. I don’t have any children, I get plenty of sleep during the week. I suffer occasionally from insomnia, but very very occasionally. Generally, I sleep well and deeply from between midnight or 1am (depending on what I’m doing) and 8.30am when I get up for work.

I work from home and my day starts at about 9.30am so I only need to get up an hour beforehand. So on average I get between seven and a half hours and eight and a half hours of sleep a night. Plenty.

So why the need to sleep until 1pm every Saturday and Sunday? Truth is, I don’t need to. I just do.

And I think it’s time to stop. It’s time for an experiment!

For Lent, I am going to give up lie-ins. Just to see if I can and to see if it makes any difference. I’ve been struggling to think of things to give up for Lent as I’m already following a healthy eating plan with Slimming World and I don’t drink or smoke.

So I’m going after lie-ins. I’m going to get up at the same time every day, working or not, weekend or not, until Easter. If I feel it’s making a difference and I find I’m enjoying it, I’ll continue after Easter. If I’m crawling on my hands and knees desperate for sleep, I’ll go back to sleeping late.

It’ll be a challenge, albeit a tiny personal one, but I’m looking forward to it.

I don’t know how I’m going to break it to my bed though, he’ll likely feel abandoned and unwanted and like he did something wrong. I’ll have to tread very carefully around him or he’ll develop lumps and start annoying me at 4am.

I’ll keep you posted. Wish me luck!