Ingredients at the ready

Ingredients at the ready

SO I was mooching around the Internet this morning when I came across THIS post by Sera at The Agoraphoic Fashionista (read her, she’s fabulous) promising a cookie/cake hybrid in 40 seconds in the microwave.

Instantly my fat little piggy soul went into overdrive and I knew I’d have to try it. Cake, in the microwave? All made in the one little ramekin with no endless weighing and measuring?

SORCERER!

I had heard of the whole cake in a mug phenomenon a few years back but that had ingredients like cocoa powder and stuff in it that you might not ordinarily have in your kitchen. This though had only four ingredients, perhaps I could do it. I hesitated though. I don’t have a great track record when it comes to make and do. After all, I once went to make THIS

Nom!

Nom!

… and ended up making THIS.

Smush!

Smush!

 

I tried to do arts and crafts with The Beast one day and tried to create THIS:

Pretty!

Pretty!

and ended up creating THIS.

Monstrous!

Monstrous!

 

I wasn’t holding out much hope. Determined to satisfy my lust however I gathered all the ingredients together (all the details are on Sera’s blog) and nervously started.

So far so good, I got the butter and sugar in, then separated the egg – ooops! kind of! – and then put in the flour (wrecking the place in the process) and mixed it all up.

The recipe said to add chocolate sprinkles but I didn’t have any so I stuck in some of The Beast’s chocolate buttons, left over from Easter. WHAT? He was napping, he’d never know!

Shaking, almost tasting the buttery sugary goodness, I stuck it in the microwave for the requisite 40 seconds and then slowly opened the door.

Ah. Yes. It had exploded.

 

Boom!

Boom!

 

I don’t think I QUITE separated that egg correctly plus I think my ramekin was a bit too small so there was a bit of a disaster on the whole ‘coating the inside of the microwave’ front. But no matter, no matter, what did it TASTE like?

Well, what does this face say to you?

Cake blog me putting spoon in mouthCake blog me eating spoon out of mouth

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dear God in His Heaven it was good. Gooooooooooooood! Handcuff me to the headboard gooooooooood.

Buttery goodness

Buttery goodness

 

It was cakey and buttery and sweet and warm. If I had to criticise I’d say it was quite a bit too sweet and you’d deffo need a bigger flatter ramekin to get that ‘cookie’ effect but this definitely has potential. You could even add in some stewed fruit, dark chocolate, dare I suggest it even some peanut butter?

All in all a good experiment and one I’d try again. Right now in fact.

Crazed

Crazed

Ps: The nose? Yeah, that’s from where I punched myself in the face putting my seatbelt on in the car last weekend. Maimed so I am.

