Benefit mascara full face

HAVE you ever really wanted to like something, but no matter how much you try, you just can’t seem to fall for it?

Like that colleague at work that everybody else thinks is hilarious but you want to punch in the throat repeatedly until you are quite sure he is dead? You know that guy, right?

For me, it’s the Benefit Cosmetics brand. I just can’t get along with it. And I’m GRIEF STRICKEN about it.

I so want to love it, I really do. Everyone raves about it and the stuff comes in lovely little nifty packages and all, but at this stage, I’m just going to have to give up.

I haven’t tried the whole range, of course, but the things I did try, I just couldn’t get along with.

For example, I recently won a competition and got three Benefit products to try – a Stay Flawless primer, their Lollitint lip colour and their new Gimme Brow eyebrow stuff. Out of the three, only the eyebrow stuff was any good. That was nice enough, deffo filled in the brows without leaving you with Scouse brow.

But the primer was the worst make up product I’ve ever tried in my very long life. It was like rubbing Pritt Stick all over your face. A horrible glue-y sticky stuff that made ALL the other products stick to it in big clumps. Big brown patches of bronzer, big pink cheeks, there was no blending with this stuff. It was awful.

The Lollitint was a lovely colour but when I put it on my cheeks, three lines as directed on the packaging, it INSTANTLY set on my face before I could rub it in, leaving me with three visible lines on each cheek, like war paint. When I used it on my lips, it stung really badly.

I’ve also used a concealer and a highlighter over the years which simply didn’t live up to the hype.

Which brings me to my most recent – and sadly last – Benefit product. Their cult They’re Real mascara.

This stuff is supposed to be the business, makes you look like you’re wearing false lashes, volume, length, curl, the works. So good that people won’t believe they’re your own lashes, so they won’t.

So I rocked up to Boots, shelled over the €26, got home, put it on, looked at myself in the mirror and thought.

Meh.

Benefit on the left, nothing on the right

Benefit on the left, nothing on the right

Benefit on the left, nothing on the right

Benefit on the left, nothing on the right

Both eyes in 'They're Real'

Both eyes in ‘They’re Real’

Ah lads, it’s just a mascara. I’ve had similar effects from other mascaras I’ve used, better actually, at a fraction of the cost. I found the texture very messy and wet, it clumped on my lashes and clogged them all together, it went all over my eye lid and under my eyes. In short, a disaster. I had to do a major clean up job with a cotton bud before I could leave the house.

An example of other mascaras which, in my opinion, have done just as good a job

An example of other mascaras which, in my opinion, have done just as good a job

An example of other mascaras which, in my opinion, have done just as good a job

An example of other mascaras which, in my opinion, have done just as good a job

An example of other mascaras which, in my opinion, have done just as good a job

An example of other mascaras which, in my opinion, have done just as good a job

 

I’m lucky in that I have naturally dark eyelashes and they’re long enough, so I knew that the transformation wouldn’t be as dramatic for me as it might be fore another person who has fair or short eye lashes, but I expected something more. It’s not so much that the mascara isn’t good or doesn’t work – it does, my eyelashes were defined – it’s just that I didn’t think it was deserving of its cult status as the Best Mascara in the Universe Ever. I didn’t see what was so different about it.

I will say though that the one claim that it did live up to was that it didn’t budge at all, all day. So that was good. But unfortunately I don’t think that one positive is worth the hefty price tag.

So with a heavy heart I say, Benefit, it’s good night from me.

