Look at the STATE of me!

Look at the STATE of me!

THAT’S me there, in the photo above. With the face mask on me. That’s right. In the middle of Boots in Liffey Valley. Scarlet for me. But it was owney gorgeous so it was, so I didn’t care.

A couple of weeks ago I bought the Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser in Boots and the sales assistant offered me a complimentary facial and make-over to try out some of the other products in the Liz Earle range. Never one to turn down a free, well, anything, I agreed and last Saturday headed in to get ready for my close up.

I sat down with my beauty adviser for the day, June, for a chat about my skin and my daily routine before she gathered up an armload of the products and got to work.

First she cleaned my face with the gorgeous hot cloth cleanser, before toning with the Instant Boost Skin Tonic (which smells divine, I wanted to dip my whole head in it) and then adding an Intensive Nourishing Treatment Mask to add some much needed moisture to my dehydrated skin.

See how it's disappeared from my dry-as-the-desert forehead?

See how it’s disappeared from my dry-as-the-desert forehead?

This is a clever little product. You spread it all over your face and leave it to soak in for a few minutes and then take a look at yourself. It will have soaked in and disappeared from the areas of your skin that most needed moisture. In my case, my forehead. The very area where my make-up always cakes and where I have the most wrinkles and lines. Clever, no?

After removing the mask June added a beautiful Superskin Concentrate oil and then some Skin Repair Moisturiser, finishing up with a Smoothing Line Serum around the eyes. It was so relaxing being pampered and having gorgeous creams rubbed in that I almost fell asleep a few times. I could have stayed there all day. I WOULD have stayed there all day only for, you know, having a child. Bloody children, needing to be fed ‘n’ stuff.

Blissed out and half asleep after my facial

Blissed out and half asleep after my facial

Anyway, after the facial I then had my make-up done using the Liz Earle make-up products. The Signature Foundation in Porcelain was my shade and it was fabulous, really light and natural. I fell in love with the bronze eye shadow that was used on me and also loved the Sheer Lipgloss in ‘Mallow’. There was also a cream blush, smudge proof mascara, concealer, bronzer, highlighter, ah bags of stuff stroked on and delicately applied, it was Heaven. It was all delicious and perfect for a natural day-time look. June showed me a few tricks of the trade such as how to use bronzer and highlighter which I hadn’t been brave enough to try before.

All purdied up with my make-up on

All purdied up with my make-up on

What I liked most about my experience at Liz Earle however was that there was no hard sell. The sales assistants know their products and tell you about them, but they’re not on commission, so there’s no pressure to spend money on things you can’t afford. As well as talking about the products, we also chatted about my son, parenting, blogging and lipstick so it was all very relaxed. At the end of the session June asked me if I had enjoyed the facial and if I was happy with the make-up and only then asked if I would like to buy something from the range. There was no obligation to buy at all, genuinely, I was free to walk away if I wanted to. I did actually treat myself to a bottle of the Smoothing Line Serum but didn’t feel that I had to.

Liz Earle products comprise naturally active ingredients such as plant oils and plant extracts, vitamin E, Echinacea extract, cocoa butter, aloe vera, argan oil and witch hazel. The company sources its ingredients responsibly and products are not tested on animals.

Liz Earle cleanser with two muslin cloths

Liz Earle cleanser with two muslin cloths

I’ve been using the hot cloth cleanser for two weeks now and am in love with it. My face feels squeaky clean, and my skin is softer and smoother and even a little brighter so I’m definitely a fan of the brand. If you’re looking for a change to your skincare routine or to try out a new product then go and have a chat with them at Liz Earle. They’re more than willing to offer complimentary treatments and let you try the products and in my book that’s no bad thing.

I’m already booked in again next month for a complimentary hand and arm massage and this time I’m bring a pillow, so I can snooze in comfort!

For more information and prices visit the Liz Earle Irish website.

