Lacura CC Cream

Lacura CC Cream

I HAD a brief but satisfying splurge in Aldi the other day where I picked up their Lacura CC [Colour Correction] Cream. It says it offers good coverage and has anti-aging benefits and not being in the first flush of youth any longer, I thought I’d have me some of that. At €7.99 it’s dearer than rival Lidl’s CC Cream, which is only €2.99 but it’s still not too spendy.

Shuffling through the boxes on the shelf looking for the lightest tone, I noticed that actually it only comes in one shade, with the box declaring that it suits ‘All Skin Tones’.

Immediately the ‘One Size Fits None’ klaxon started bleating in my head. You know how it is, you try on a fairly innocuous looking cardigan that promises to fit everyone from an ‘8 to an 18’ only to discover that in fact it fits everyone from an 8 to an 8. One size fits all garments are an abomination, and I was fairly sure it’d be impossible to find one make-up product that would suit all skin tones, but I decided to give it the benefit of the doubt.

Suits all skin tones, me hoop!

Suits all skin tones, me hoop!

Swatching it on my hand I actually let out a little gasp. Oh it’s dark, reader. It’s very very dark. Gingerly I put it on my face and blended with my fingertips. At first it was kinda like when you put on fake tan before you start rubbing – a big splodge of brown? But as I blended, it settled down a little and sank more into my skin so I didn’t look like a toffee apple. Well, not TOO much like a toffee apple.

The before shot. Me sans make-up, just with moisturiser on.

The before shot. Me sans make-up, just with moisturiser on.

 

After: Just with the CC cream on

After: Just with the CC cream on

 

Side view - face a more orange tone than neck.

Side view – face a more orange tone than neck.

I added some concealer and powder and some blusher and it calmed down a little more again. Unfortunately it was still too dark, I could tell I had make-up on and my face was a different colour to my neck. It’s a pity because it has good coverage and leaves a nice sheen on the skin, but it really was too dark for my milk blue Irish complexion. The pictures aren’t great now that I look at them, the light was good and kinda over exposed the images, but trust me it’s a couple of shades too dark.

After I added some concealer, powder, blusher and lipgloss

After I added some concealer, powder, blusher and lipgloss

 

All is not lost though, I liked the coverage so I’ll hang on to it and mix a drop into my moisturiser or even in with my lightest foundation, so I’ll get my €7.99 worth.

The jury’s out on this one. If you normally use a foundation that’s a shade or two up from the lightest shade then this might very well be for you, but if you’re very pale, fuggetaboudit.

Have you tried this CC cream yet? What did you think?

