I’VE never been one who’s been that into make-up. Sure, I wore it and enjoyed putting it on and would have the (very) odd manicure, but it’s never been a hobby of mine.

For many years I had the same small green leather make-up bag containing one foundation; one concealer; one blusher; one eyeliner; one mascara and two lipsticks, with maybe a lipgloss lurking in the bottom there. It was all I needed really, bit of slap to cover up the oul blemishes and wrinkles. Often I wore no make-up at all, sometimes only wearing it on special occasions.

But then something happened. Firstly I started reading the brilliant Beaut.ie and my eyes were opened to all the wondrous and magical lotions and potions that were on offer. Then, miracle of miracles, Beaut asked me to write a few articles for them.

‘I won’t be writing anything about beauty or fashion will I?’ I asked, horrified, terrified that I’d be found out.

When they stopped howling laughing they assured me that no, I wouldn’t be working on the beauty side of things, they had professionals for that, I’d be writing about things like bras and periods and celebrities.

Grand so. But although I stuck to writing about things I knew about, I read more and more articles on the site about beauty and decided to try a few products for myself. Then I read some more beauty blogs and started following some beauty bloggers on Twitter and before I knew it I was lusting after foundation like a teenage boy lusts after nipples.

So over time, this happened:

The obligatory before picture.

The obligatory before picture.

Yes, that’s a king-sized bed. And yes that’s all my make-up and cosmetics spread out all over it. For someone who was once content with one mascara that lasted a full 18-months, I’ve sure come a long way. I unearthed bottles and tubes and lotions I had forgotten all about, eyeshadows in pretty colours, even some good brand names that I had no idea how they got into my sweaty paws. Clarins? Elizabeth Arden? I know nothing of these expensive delights, yet there they were, taking up room on my dresser. I found a Lancome lipstick that I’ve never seen before in my life. I must have shoplifted it, it’s the only explanation because I literally have no idea how it found it’s way into my top drawer.

Anyway, I decided enough was enough, I had to find a way to keep all of my make-up tidy and together instead of stuffing it into drawers and bags strewn all around the room. So on Mother’s Day when my poor husband asked me what I wanted to do for the afternoon I said I wanted to go to IKEA and find a ‘storage solution’ as the real beauty bloggers call it.

So off to Ikea we went where we found this little beauty with four lovely colourd-ey baskets for €41. Perfect for the job. Back at the ranch I set about filling the baskets, barely able to lift them onto the shelves, so crammed were they with all my stuff.

The after shot. Neater, no?

The after shot. Neater, no?

I divided them into cleansers/face cream and foundation/concealer/blush; nail polish/nail polish remover/eyeshadow/mascara; deodorant, body lotion and perfume and lastly hair care including my hair dryer and straightener.

Face creams and foundation/concealer

Face creams and foundation/concealer

Perfume and body lotion

Perfume and body lotion

Nail polish, lippie and eyeshadow

Nail polish, lippie and eyeshadow

 

I’m determined to keep the top of it clean and tidy, as I’m a hoor for clutter so I carefully placed a few photographs on the top along with the beauty bible to end all beauty bibles, the Beaut.ie book, Gorgeous to Go.

Hair products

Hair products

Face all done and products put away neatly! No wonder I look smug!

Face all done and products put away neatly! No wonder I look smug!

I'm determined not to add anymore clutter. I have spoken!

I’m determined not to add anymore clutter. I have spoken!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m only delira with it so I am. It looks so pretty, I’ve more space in the room, everything is together and I can put my hand on whatever I need, whenever I need it. I feel, almost, like a grown up!

For more beauty goodness have a gander at these blogs and websites, some of my favourites, they really know what they’re talking about: Cherry Sue Doin’ the Do, Lovely Girlie Bits, Behind Green Eyes, Frillseeker, Cornflake Girl’s Musings, All the Buzz, Robyn Rants and Raves and Forever Fabulous in Bows and … ah look, there’s loads of great ones! Check these ones out and then have a goo who they follow and check them out on Twitter too.

