SO now. I promised you a post about all the products I bought yesterday and here it is. Be warned, the selfie quotient is high, so you’re not to judge me, ok? It’s the only way I can show you the products, it’s not because I’m vain. *adjusts industrial sized back light*

First night using the hot cloth cleanser. Duck face klaxon!

First night using the hot cloth cleanser. Duck face klaxon!

Last night I had a go at the Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser and Madre de Dios I only loved it. One pump is enough to do your whole face and it smells nice and eucalyptus-y and creamy going on. (Smells a bit like Deep Heat if I’m honest, but not in a bad way!) But this product really comes into its own with the second stage of cleansing – polishing (or wiping to us mere mortals) with the lovely muslin cloth. It. Feels. GORGEOUS. And disturbingly satisfying to see all the make-up and dirt of the day on the cloth. It’s a really refreshing way to clean your face, I felt squeaky clean afterwards. In fact I don’t think my face has been that clean since my mother launched herself at me with a tissue and her spit before my Communion in 1986. My skin felt really soft and smooth afterwards. The girl in the shop said I’d see results in three days so I’ll have to see about that, in fact, I’ll probably give it a good three weeks before I come to any conclusions. But on first try, I liked it. I’ll post again in a few weeks with an update.

The 'Before' frizz and kinks, look at the back there.

The ‘Before’ frizz and kinks, look at the back there.

Hair after being blowdried

Hair after being blowdried

 

 

 

Hair after being washed and conditioned, also with added Smoothing Balm

Hair after being washed and conditioned, also with added Smoothing Balm

 

And so to hair. Ah, lads, it’s the bane of my life. Seriously, it’s so thick and unruly and PILES of it fell out after I had the baby, so I have regrowth both at the nape of my neck and along my centre parting, so it’s just an all round disaster area. It doesn’t grow down, it grows out. No brush can tame it. I have to spend HOURS getting it to look anyway normal, so when I saw the Trevor Sorbie ‘Straight’ range I thought I’d give it a bash. The shampoo and conditioner smell nice and rinsed out easily enough and after washing my hair certainly felt a little smoother and ‘flatter’ almost, though it still had kinks and waves in it. I applied some of the Smoothing Balm to towel dried hair and then blow dried it. Again, while my hair still had kinks and waves in it after blow drying, they weren’t as bad as normal, the product did seem to help tame it a little.

Hair after straightening

Hair after straightening

Lastly then I used the Protect and Shine spray on sections of dry hair before I used my straighteners and this seemed to REALLY help smooth it out, straightening was less of a struggle than before, I didn’t have to keep running the flat irons over the same piece of hair over and over. I’m quite pleased with the result. My hair feels smooth and soft, it’s less frizzy and straightening it was easier than usual. So, while I’ll never have a Jennifer Aniston poker straight mane of hair, I’m happy enough that mine won’t scare small children anymore.

 

Stay Perfect Superlight Foundation in Calico

Stay Perfect Superlight Foundation in Calico

Side view, doesn't cake around the nose

Side view, doesn’t cake around the nose

Foundation with concealer and powder

Foundation with concealer and powder

 

After I did my hair, I lugged my case of make-up on to the bed and set about painting myself. I moisturised with my usual Oil of Olay day cream and then put on the No 7 Stay Perfect Superlight Foundation mixed with a small blob of the Skin Illuminator from the free gift. It’s quite liquid and oily so a little goes a long way but it feels really light going on and blends in really easily. I liked how it evened out my skin and gave me a light coverage but it didn’t look like I was wearing thick make-up. I like to be able to see a person’s skin through their make-up, I don’t like it totally covered up. I threw on a bit of concealer and loose powder then to set it and added a sweep of Stila cream blush onto the apple of my cheeks. I used the Stay Perfect eyeshadow that I got in the free gift as well as the mascara and both were fine, though nothing out of the ordinary. However I absolutely love love LOVED the High Shine Lip Crayon. It’s like a lovely lipstick mixed with a gloss and feels like silk going on to your lips and it’s such a lovely shade too.

Finished face, love the lip crayon.

Finished face, love the lip crayon

So overall I’m pretty pleased with my purchases and would recommend to a friend. It remains to be seen whether any of them are going to change my life, but sure, we’ll wait in hope.

I’ll tell you something though, this beautifying oneself and using products takes feckin’ ages. I was hours at it today. HOURS. It’s nice to look nice ‘n’ all but it’s hard work. I’m usually a ‘get up, throw water at myself, briefly wipe my face, run a brush through my hair and go’ kinda gal, so all the styling and blending – oh so much blending – was an eye opener.

Anyway, tell me, have I inspired you to go out and buy any of these products at all at all?

