TWENTY five,” sez the sales assistant, looking at me appraisingly.

I wanted to take her home with me there and then. Set her up in a chair beside my bed so I could drift off to sleep to the sweet sound of her intoning ‘No really, you have the skin of a child’ on a loop.

But that would have been creepy and weird, so I settled for buying some foundation off her instead. (Even though she was, obviously, an enormous liar. I’m 35 and believe me, I look every hour of it.)

A couple of weeks ago I won a competition on Facebook from the Professional Nanny Agency (check them out if you need a nanny, they’re lovely)  for lots of gorgeous Boots vouchers, so this afternoon off I skipped to Boots Liffey Valley for a little spree.

No 7 Stay Perfect Superlight Foundation and Instant Radiance concealer

No 7 Stay Perfect Superlight Foundation and Instant Radiance concealer

I had read about the new No 7 Stay Perfect Superlight Foundation on this blog, via Lovely Girlie Bits and it looked so dewy and nice and flawless that it sparked a lust in me like no other. I had to have it.

Eyeshadow, mascara, lipstick/gloss and highlighter stuff. Not bad!

Eyeshadow, mascara, lipstick/gloss and highlighter stuff. Not bad!

The sales assistant colour matched my skin using one of those fancy machine yokes (honestly, it was like something out of Star Trek) and said I was ‘Calico’ their lightest shade. She tried a bit on me and I really liked it, it felt lovely going on and left my skin looking nice and smooth, even under the harsh shopping centre lights. No. 7 are having an offer at the moment that if you buy two make-up items you get a free gift so I also picked up their Instant Radiance Concealer. I was dubious about the free gift having been swizzed in the past by other cosmetic houses with one tiny tube of cream and an orange eyeshadow, but this time I was pleasantly surprised. The free gift has a really wearable goldy/nude/neutral Stay Perfect eyeshadow, a mini Exceptional Definition black mascara, a mini tube of Skin Illuminator and a really gorgeous dusky pink High Shine Lip Crayon. Not a bad haul, I was impressed.

Liz Earle cleanser with two muslin cloths

Liz Earle cleanser with two muslin cloths

From there I went to the Liz Earle counter to buy the Cleanse and Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser which I’ve been hearing about from everyone for years, but never tried before. The sales assistant gave out to me for mentioning that I’ve been using wipes to remove my make-up, but then gave me a lovely demo of a few of the products. I must have looked totally overwhelmed because she then offered to book me in for a complimentary make over, two weekends from now. My face will be cleansed, toned, exfoliated and moisturised and I’ll get some class of a face mask AND they’ll ‘do’ my face for me with lovely make-up as well. How bloody brilliant is that? I can’t wait. Don’t worry, I’ll take eleventy billion photos, you won’t miss out. No really, it’s no bother, honestly. I know how you all love seeing photos of me. Me. Me. MEEEEE!

Hopefully this will be able to tame the frizz.

Hopefully this will be able to tame the frizz.

After that I picked up some Trevor Sorbie hair care products in the ‘Straight’ range. I’m mithered by a bush of frizzy, unkempt, wavy hair full of kinks. It’s neither curly, nor straight and it’s the bane of my life. I usually stick it up in a ponytail and try to ignore it but when I want to wear it down I spend hours straightening it and it still never looks right, so I’m relying on this range to smooth it out for me. I already had the shampoo so today I bought the conditioner and the Protect and Shine spray as well as the Smoothing Balm. I have high hopes. And sure if it doesn’t work, it smells nice in all in anyways.

So there you have it, am delighted with all my purchases and can’t wait to try them all out. Which leads me neatly to tomorrow’s post. Tomorrow I won’t just boast about how young I [allegedly] look, tomorrow I’ll actually use the products and report back with some swatches and photos. This really was just an opportunity for me to boast that someone thought I looked young. Soz!

I DO look young, I don't care what you say!

I DO look young, I don’t care what you say!

