What do you mean I have to take all this off again before I go to bed?

What do you mean I have to take all this off again before I go to bed?

THE trouble with wearing make-up all the time is you have to take the bloody stuff off.

So used am I to not wearing any, that night after night I’ve been jumping in to my warm, cosy bed with a face full of slap only to have to drag myself back out again to take it off.

God it takes hours, doesn’t it? Fannying about with cleanser and cotton wool and eye make-up remover and then perhaps throwing a wipe over yourself for that final clean. The temptation just to sleep in it is RAMPANT. Confession time: I’ve often slept in my regular BB Cream. A crime against beauty, I know, (I’m sure Tom Ford is crying into his champagne) but it’s basically tinted moisturiser so I haven’t felt so bad about it.

I even had a go at liquid eye liner today!

I even had a go at liquid eye liner today!

Taking off nail varnish is another pain in the hoop. Scrubbing away for ages trying to get into all the nooks and crannies, picking bits off your cuticles. Why hasn’t science come up with a gizmo to remove nail polish in an instant? Why, science? Why?

Doing yourself up like a dog’s dinner is a bit of an effort, isn’t it? I’m still enjoying it though and have even rooted out some extra eye-shadows, eyeliner, lipstick and polish I had forgotten about to experiment further.

Dress: Tesco. Cardi: A-wear.

Dress: Tesco. Cardi: A-wear.

Today’s high point was picking up another floral tea-dress in Tesco for a tenner. It’s similar to the one I’m wearing today but I love the fit and at that price I couldn’t pass it up.

Thanks to everyone who’s been taking part in Keeping Up With The Selfridges. If you’d like to take part, join in on Twitter at @beatingblog and #keepingupwiththeselfridges or leave a comment here.

