Bright red nails to brighten a dull Monday

Bright red nails to brighten a dull Monday

IT’S 3pm on a dreary Monday afternoon and I’m sitting at my kitchen table in a dress, heels and full make-up.

I’m not going anywhere. I don’t have to go to work to impress a client. I don’t have a date. I’m not even going to my doctor, a visit I usually clean myself up for in case she decides to have a poke around my unmentionables.

I’m just dressed up for the sake of it. Just because I can.

It all started last Sunday night when I was watching Mr Selfridge on UTV, a show set in the 1920s, about a department store in London. I noticed all the women – and indeed the men – looked so smart and so glam and so dressed up all the time. The perfectly coiffed hair, the porcelain skin, the vibrant red lip. Gorgeous. Thing is though, they weren’t even particularly dressed up, that was just the fashion of the time, to dress smartly, to ‘do’ your hair, no matter what you were doing or where you were going. I looked down at my tatty pjs and sighed. I doubt they’d let me in the door of Selfridges looking like this.

I’ve recently got myself into a bit of a rut of wearing the same comfortable things every day and not bothering with make up bar a smear of BB Cream. The dresses and skirts and smart tops are in my wardrobe, the make-up is on my dresser but I’ve let it slide. So this week I’m doing something about it.

Dress: Tesco. Cardi: Scarlett and Jo at Evans. Shoes: Dunnes.

Dress: Tesco. Cardi: Scarlett and Jo at Evans. Shoes: Dunnes.

I’ve challenged myself to dress up every day this week. For one week I’ll act like I’m a character in Mr Selfridge and do myself up like a dog’s dinner. I’ll do my hair. Wear a dress and heels or boots. Do my nails and wear proper make-up, take the time to blend eyeshadow. The works. Just for the hell of it, just to feel a bit glam. Nobody’s asked me to do this, nobody’s made me feel bad about myself, my husband hasn’t passed any negative comments about my appearance, nor have my friends. This is just about taking the time each day for me. Just for me, for the sake of it.

 

I started this morning in the shower washing and deep conditioning my hair, scrubbing my face with a wash, then applying body lotion. I painted my nails, straightened my hair and wiggled into The Devils Instruments of Torture (tights) and a dress. I then lashed on moisturiser, foundation, concealer, powder, blusher, eyeshadow, eyeliner, mascara, lipstick and lipgloss. It took feckin’ AGES and in truth I was wrecked afterwards but I looked alright. I actually quite enjoyed it.

Eyeshadow! And lipstick! And foundation! All in the one day!

Eyeshadow! And lipstick! And foundation! All in the one day!

It lashed rain all day so I didn’t leave the house, just tottered around doing the washing up and making beds as usual but that didn’t matter, I still felt good.

I’m on track to continue in the same vein for the rest of the week and have posted on Facebook and Twitter about my challenge, inviting friends to take part too. A pal came up with the hashtag #keepingupwiththeselfridges so if you want to take part, post a pic of your efforts on Twitter with this hashtag and share the glam.

Just a word to the wise though – if you’re in a relationship tell you’re partner that you’re doing this challenge, just in case  – like mine – they come home, take one look at you and immediately decide that you’re having an affair. *taps side of nose*

