Spring challenge – colour me happy

Our Wedding Day - April 2011

Our Wedding Day – April 2011

THREE years ago today I married the love of my life. I have wonderful memories of a really brilliant day that I’ll never forget.

It marked the end of one part of my life and the beginning of a new chapter. So what better day than my wedding anniversary to start another new chapter?

Specifically I’m talking about leaving behind my insecurities and hang ups about my figure and body and stepping a little bit out of my comfort zone.

Like many of us, I’m inclined to stick to the same ‘uniform’ of clothes and even more so the same palette of colours. Mainly black. Being plumptious I hide behind black a LOT convinced it makes me look three stone lighter, when of course it doesn’t.

You know what, though? I’m sick of it. It’s spring now, coming in to summer, the days are longer, hopefully the sun will make an appearance and I’m sick of wearing dull clothes and covering up.

I need to lose some weight and I’m doing so slowly by following the Slimming World plan but while I’m losing weight, I want to wear nice clothes. I deserve to wear nice clothes. And that means colour and patterns and florals and stripes and polka dots and anything else I fancy.

Trousers - Yours Clothing. Top - Tesco. Shoes - Heatons

Trousers – Yours Clothing. Top – Tesco. Shoes – Heatons

Rimmel Wake me Up Foundation, Chanel Eyeshadow, Estee Lauder lipstick

Rimmel Wake me Up Foundation, Chanel Eyeshadow, Estee Lauder lipstick

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I spoke a bit about this last week in my post about wearing stripes, something I had been afraid to do before as I thought they made me look fat(ter). I enjoyed dressing up and wearing a bold pattern so much that I thought I’d extend it to a week long challenge for myself.

So I’ve decided just to go for it for the next seven days and have a bit of fun with it and embrace fashion and colour and pattern and to hell with size and the ‘rules’ for what you can and can’t wear if you’re a larger person. To hell with it.

Lady in Red - Laura

Lady in Red – Laura

 

Aoife's stunning blue nails

Aoife’s stunning blue nails

 

 

 

 

 

Sara in her new pink scarf

Sara in her new pink scarf

I enjoyed my last challenge a lot and friends and readers got on board with it so much that this time I’ll also be including pictures of other women, of all sizes, who all want to break out of their comfort zones and add a bit of colour to their wardrobes. I’m hoping at the end of the seven days people will have enjoyed it so much that they’ll permanently retire their dull wardrobes.

Sharon's fabulous statement jewellery and minty nails

Sharon’s fabulous statement jewellery and minty nails

Wendy looking fab in her bright pink dress and statement clutch bag

Wendy looking fab in her bright pink dress and statement clutch bag

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you’d like to take part, please do join in, the rules are simple: Wear some colour every day, or a bold print/pattern you wouldn’t have worn before. That’s it. You don’t have to buy new clothes, even bright rainbow coloured nails count. A statement necklace, a vibrant scarf, anything. Just wear some colour every day.

You can comment here or follow me on @beatingblog and use the hashtag #colourmehappy to take part. Tell your friends. Tell your family. Enjoy it.

4 thoughts on “Spring challenge – colour me happy

Leave a Reply

